top of page

History of Segur


SEGUR, safe place, protected and defended place. Indeed it seems that, very early, from the 8th century, on the place was established a defense, even a stronghold, built with wood and rocks.


The first castle built in the 9th century saw the birth of the first viscounts of Limoges... In the time of Charlemagne, Limousin was a vast county whose administrator, the count, appointed by the sovereign, resided in Limoges.

 

From the middle of the 9th century, the counts moved away from Limousin to live in Toulouse, Clermont or Poitiers. It was at this time that territories and jurisdictions were entrusted to their representatives, the vice-counts, in other words the viscounts. There was therefore, henceforth, a Viscount of Limoges to whom the entire territory was not entrusted.

 

Limousin was shared between a number of other viscounts, each established on a naturally fortified spur. For example, for Bas Limousin, a viscount was installed in SEGUR, another in Comborn and another in Tulle. In the Middle Ages, Limousin had four illustrious viscounts; SEGUR, COMBORN, VENTADOUR, TURENNE... and the song of the troubadours still resounds.


The first viscount house dates back to 876 with Eudebert and Foucher. In the 9th century, Eudes, Duke of Aquitaine, would have established Foucher (Fulchérius) viscount of SEGUR. To face the invasions of the Normans, men coming from the shores of Sweden, Norway or Denmark, Foucher would have directed the work of fortification of the castle of SEGUR and ordered the defense. 


At the end of the 10th century, the marriage of Guy, 1st son of the viscount of Limoges, with his cousin Emma, daughter of Adhémar, viscount of SEGUR, achieved for centuries the fusion between the two viscounts and made the castle of SEGUR one of the fortresses major Limousin.

 

Although SEGUR was never the capital of the Viscount, it is undeniable that the Viscounts often resided there. Very quickly they installed families of vassal knights there as well as a certain number of officers responsible for dispensing justice and administering the castellany on their behalf. These vassals will be in charge for several decades of the publication of royal edicts, the collection of taxes and justice. 


In the 12th century the Viscounts of Limoges became for a certain time vassals of the crown of England when Henri Plantagenet became the holder. 


It was in 1177 that, to take back SEGUR from the English, a certain Lothar would have destroyed the castle on the order of Raymond II Viscount of Turenne. Richard Coeur de Lion, son of Henri Plantagenet and Eleanor of Aquitaine, who became king of England, died in Chalus in 1199.


Marie, daughter of Guy VI, married Arthus de Bretagne in 1275. This alliance linked the Viscounty of SEGUR to the Duchy of Brittany for two centuries.


During the Hundred Years War SEGUR suffered English domination.


In the first half of the 15th century, Viscount Jean de Bretagne, known as "de l'Aigle", a famous captain in the service of the King of France, was appointed lieutenant-general in Limousin by King Charles VII. Viscount of Limoges, he thought of making SEGUR the general seat of his appellate justice. He died in 1452. His wife, Marguerite de Chauvigny, died in 1473. She was buried in the chapel of the Château de SEGUR.


It was at the Château de SEGUR that the marriage of the last heiress of the viscounts, Françoise de Bretagne, with Alain d'Albret was celebrated. One of their 8 children, Jean d'Albret, was born in SEGUR. He will be the first of the Albret family to become King of Navarre by marrying Catherine de Foix. Jean was the ancestor of Jeanne d'Albret mother of Henri de Bourbon who will become Henri IV. The viscounty of SEGUR / Limoges was united to the crown of France by King Henri IV who was the last viscount of SEGUR.


But what gave "brilliance" and fame to SEGUR was, obviously, the Court of Calls, this institution of which the city was legitimately proud and which functioned from the 15th century until 1750.


There has always existed in Ségur a seigniorial justice of the 1st degree: Ordinary justice of which we find traces in many writings. It was probably Alain d'Albret who endeavored to restore the viscount's authority. He took up residence in Ségur from 1468 to 1522 and obtained from the king the privilege of establishing a court of appeal in this place intervening, as its name suggests, between the ordinary seigniorial justices and the Royal Parliament of Paris. Any appeal against a court decision taken in one of the 150 seigniorial jurisdictions of the county of Périgueux and the viscounty of Limoges had to be debated before the Court of Appeals of SEGUR before possibly being brought before the royal parliament.

 

S EGUR knew from then on a feverish animation with the influx of magistrates, plaintiffs and pleaders, who lodged permanently or temporarily in the houses and hotels of the borough. This explains this great wave of constructions of quality residences, relatively numerous, some of which still exist today. Most of these residences, served by elegant spiral staircases in local stone, have magnificent rooms decorated with monumental fireplaces.


The Court met in a building, now gone, which was located on the fairgrounds not far from the Notre-Dame bridge. Sometimes subject to the vagaries of the river, the court had to find refuge in neighboring houses.


This court functioned until January 1750 when a royal edict put an end to it in favor of a seneschalsy in Saint-Yrieix.


SEGUR thereafter crossed the revolutionary period without major jolts like many other Limousin cities. Nevertheless, we will remember the destruction of feudal titles, which were burned in 1793 on the fairgrounds.
In 1795 the castle, which belonged to the Hauteforts, was bought for 30 francs by a certain Gabriel Dumas Lavareille who, after having been a farmer in the family and administrator of the royal stud farm of Pompadour, had become mayor of SEGUR.

 

SEGUR...Small Corrézien village, as if fallen from the sky, more than picturesque, all made of old stones, in the hollow of a gentle valley where the Auvézère flows - or Haut Vézère - This sometimes capricious little river, surrounds in one of its loops the rocky peak where the old castle is nestled. Houses and mansions of character nestle gracefully at the foot of the building, giving the whole a subtle charm coupled with an unspeakable magic. "SEGUR"... safe place, sécuritas, sécurus, all the etymology can be found there in the familiar and patois expression... "Qué plo ségur"...

When Henry  III of Navarre became King of France under the name of Henri IV, this one attached, in 1607, the viscountcy of Limoges and Ségur to the royal domain. This event was at the origin of the significant weakening of the dynamism and influence of the village. Despite everything, the decoy court continued to operate, but less intensely, until the middle of the 18th century.

 

Its abolition in 1750 in favor of the Seneschal of Saint-Yrieix, put an end to the animation that the village knew during the previous centuries. Little by little magistrates, notaries and bourgeois families, whom the interruption of this court of justice hit hard, moved away from Ségur.

The village slowly took on the appearance of a quiet town while retaining an important craft and commercial activity, benefiting for several decades from the dynamics driven by the old court of justice. The revolutionary period saw the destruction of feudal titles, burned in public places.
 

 

In the 19th century and until the middle of the 20th century, Ségur was a rural town whose activity was essentially linked  in the countryside and in agriculture. Crafts and shops of all kinds are particularly developed there. Around 1870, all the trades were still present in Ségur. The village had nearly 1000 inhabitants who could live in complete autarky.

Thus  notary, hairdresser, farrier, doctor, clog maker, wheelwright…  could meet in one of the many shops in the village - 4 grocery stores, 2 bakeries, 5 butchers, 3 innkeepers, 3 innkeepers, 3 haberdashery, 2 hardware stores...

 

These "craftsmen" who were the wheelwrights and the blacksmiths, were a precious help to the  farmers, for the repair or manufacture of carts and dumpers, for strapping wheels, for the manufacture or repair of drawbars or  drawbars, for the repair of the harrow and the plow, manufacture of wheelbarrows...
 

In 1920, Ségur still had 850 inhabitants. It was a rural town with an important activity linked to its river until the middle of the 20th century. 3 mills were still working in 1900. The Richard mill upstream, the Saint-Laurent mill in the center and the Grimal mill downstream. These mills listed on the Cassini map (1740) are said to be "Founded in Title" with regard to the inalienable right to water acquired for these mills which operated with hydraulic power transmitted by mechanical wooden assemblies. Their main activity was to make flour for local bakeries. At the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century, these mills also crushed apples for the manufacture of cider but they also produced walnut oil.

In 1907 The Saint Laurent mill, which is located in the center of the village, was transformed into a mill with 4 levels of building height. This allowed the removal of the millstones and the installation of a grinding system, with metal fluted cylinders, accompanied, on the top floor, by sieving systems called "planchisters".
This important transformation has made it possible to significantly change production while leaving the hand to the miller who regulates and ensures the quality of the artisanal flour.

 

In the 1920s, the Moulin Richard, the furthest upstream on the Auvezère, had the particularity of producing electricity with a dynamo. This made it possible to install the first public lighting in the town.

Here is the story in a few lines: In 1922, the owner of Moulin Richard decided to put an end to his job as a miller and to sell the mill. In 1923 the Mayor of Ségur, the parish priest and a young craftsman from the Commune, Mr. Robert Breuil, decided to buy the mill in order to install a power plant there. The 3 friends form a limited company and launch a subscription to the population. The results obtained exceeded their hopes; they recover enough money to launch their project. Mr. Breuil takes care of the structural work, the installation of the turbine, a regulator and an alternator, equipment powerful enough to provide a direct current of 110 volts in driving force. The work was carried out smoothly and everything was ready for the inauguration which took place on the last Sunday of September 1924, the day of the patronal feast of Ségur. This is how the light from the first bulbs was able to fall from the street lamps to illuminate the main street. A great first for the time. At nightfall people came from neighboring villages to "see" the electricity in Ségur.

The Syndicat d'Electrification de Lubersac put an end to this great adventure. The factory stopped in December 1930 after 6 years of service. Ségur was, at the time, one of the first municipalities in the canton to have electricity!

A now extinct profession was closely linked to the proximity of the river. 2 persons
  exercised the painful profession of dredger and seller of sand. Each of them supported a family of 4 people. River sand was, and remains, premium sand. Indeed, clean and of high quality, it is highly sought after by building professionals for the finishing and manufacture of concrete blocks. The profession of flirt required some physical qualities. The equipment was limited to 1 flat-bottomed boat, 1 pole, 1 large shovel and above all 1 dredge. The dredge can be likened to a large scoop pierced with small holes for the flow of water. It was better, too, to have an unloading dock. The man left early in the morning when the river permitted. After carefully choosing the place, the boat was tied to a tree or one of its branches on the edge of the bank. The sand was dragged up and deposited on the floor of the boat. From time to time it was necessary to bail out to lighten the load because the sand was wet and the excess water flowed into the boat. Then came the moment of making the blocks. The annual maintenance of the boat was essential for the durability of the equipment and this was done in summer with the complete tarring of the hull.

Until the middle of the 20th century, the communal school had 3 separate classes and 3 teachers who strived to transmit knowledge and education to the children of the village and the surrounding area. The young schoolchildren who lived in the countryside left early in the morning and did not hesitate to travel several kilometres, morning and evening, to come to school. It brought together no less than 80 students. The teaching ranged from the preparatory course to the last year of preparation for the much sought-after examination of the Certificate of Primary Studies. The classes therefore consisted of several levels. For children who lived far away, lunch was taken on site or at the small inn on the corner, at "la Margot".

bottom of page

Histoire de Ségur


SEGUR, lieu sûr, lieu protégé et défendu. En effet il semble que, très tôt, dès le VIIIème siècle, sur le lieu se soit établie une défense, voire une place forte, construite avec du bois et des rochers.


Le premier château édifié au 9e siècle, vit naître les premiers vicomtes de Limoges... Au temps de Charlemagne le Limousin était un vaste comté dont l'administrateur, le comte, désigné par le souverain, résidait à Limoges.

 

A partir du milieu du IXe siècle, les comtes s'éloignèrent du Limousin pour aller résider à Toulouse, Clermont ou Poitiers. C'est à ce moment que, territoires et juridictions furent confiés à leurs représentants les vice-comtes, autrement dit les vicomtes. Il y eu donc ainsi, désormais, un vicomte de Limoges auquel on ne confia pas la totalité du territoire.

 

Le Limousin fut partagé entre un certain nombre d'autres vicomtes implantés chacun sur un éperon naturellement fortifié. Par exemple, pour le Bas Limousin, un vicomte fut installé à SEGUR, un autre à Comborn et un autre à Tulle. Au moyen-âge, le Limousin compta quatre vicomtés illustres; SEGUR, COMBORN, VENTADOUR, TURENNE...et résonnent encore le chant des troubadours.


La première maison vicomtale remonterait à 876 avec Eudebert et Foucher. Au IXe siècle, Eudes, Duc d'Aquitaine, aurait établi Foucher (Fulchérius) vicomte de SEGUR. Pour faire face aux invasions des Normands, hommes venus des rivages de Suède de Norvège ou du Danemark, Foucher aurait dirigé les travaux de fortification du château de SEGUR et commandé la défense. 


A la fin du Xe siècle le mariage de Guy 1er fils du vicomte de Limoges, avec sa cousine Emma fille d'Adhémar vicomte de SEGUR, réalisa pour des siècles la fusion entre les deux vicomtés et fit du château de SEGUR l'une des forteresses majeures du Limousin.

 

Bien que SEGUR n'ai jamais été la capitale de la vicomté, il est indéniable que les vicomtes y ont souvent résidé. Très rapidement ils y ont installé des familles de chevaliers vassaux ainsi qu'un certain nombre d'officiers chargés de rendre la justice et d'administrer en leur nom la châtellenie. Ces vassaux seront chargés pendant plusieurs décennies de la publication des édits royaux, de la perception des impôts et de la justice. 


Au XIIe siècle les vicomtes de Limoges deviennent pour un certain temps vassaux de la couronne d'Angleterre lorsque Henri Plantagenet en devient détenteur. 


C'est en 1177 que, pour reprendre SEGUR aux Anglais, un certain Lothar aurait détruit le château sur l'ordre de Raymond II vicomte de Turenne. Richard Coeur de Lion, fils de Henri Plantagenet et d'Aliènor d'Aquitaine, devenu roi d'Angleterre trouve la mort à Chalus en 1199.


Marie, fille de Guy VI, épouse Arthus de Bretagne en 1275. Cette alliance rattache la vicomté de SEGUR au duché de Bretagne et cela pour deux siècles.


Durant la guerre de cent ans SEGUR subit la domination Anglaise.


Dans la première moitié du XVe siècle, le vicomte Jean de Bretagne dit "de l'Aigle", célèbre capitaine au service du roi de France, est nommé lieutenant-général en Limousin par le roi charles VII. Vicomte de Limoges, il songea à faire de SEGUR le siège général de sa justice d'appel. Il décède en 1452. Sa femme, Marguerite de Chauvigny, s'éteint en 1473. Elle est inhumée dans la chapelle du château de SEGUR.


C'est au château de SEGUR que fut célébré le mariage de la dernière héritière des vicomtes, Françoise de Bretagne, avec Alain d'Albret. L'un de leurs 8 enfants, Jean d'Albret, vit le jour à SEGUR. Il sera le 1er de la famille d'Albret à devenir roi de Navarre en épousant Catherine de Foix. Jean fut l'aïeul de Jeanne d'Albret mère de Henri de Bourbon qui deviendra Henri IV. La vicomté de SEGUR / Limoges fut réunie à la couronne de France par le roi Henri IV qui fut le dernier vicomte de SEGUR.


Mais ce qui donna "éclat" et renom à SEGUR fut, de toute évidence, la Cour des Appeaux, cette institution dont la ville fut légitimement fière et qui fonctionna du XVe siècle jusqu'en 1750.


Il existait de tout temps à Ségur une justice seigneuriale de 1er degré : Justice ordinaire dont on trouve trace dans de nombreux écrits. C'est probablement Alain d'Albret qui s'efforça de restaurer l'autorité vicomtale. Il élut domicile à Ségur de 1468 à 1522 et obtint du roi le privilège d'établir en ce lieu une cour d'appel de justice intervenant, comme son nom l'indique, entre les justices seigneuriales ordinaires et le parlement Royal de Paris. Tout recours contre une décision de justice prise dans l'une des 150 juridictions seigneuriales du comté de Périgueux et de la vicomté de Limoges devait être débattu devant la Cour des Appeaux de SEGUR avant d'être éventuellement porté devant le parlement royal.

 

SEGUR connut dès lors une animation fébrile avec l'afflux de magistrats, plaignants et plaideurs, qui logeaient à demeure ou temporairement dans les maisons et hôtels du bourg. Ainsi s'explique cette grande vague de constructions de demeures de qualité, relativement nombreuses, dont quelques unes subsistent encore de nos jours. La plupart de ces demeures, desservies par d’élégants escaliers en vis, en pierre du pays, possèdent de magnifiques pièces agrémentées de cheminées monumentales.


La Cour se réunissait dans une bâtiment, aujourd'hui disparu, qui se situait sur le champ de foire pas très loin du pont Notre-Dame. Soumis parfois aux caprices de la rivière, la cour devait trouver refuge dans des maisons avoisinantes.


Cette cour fonctionna jusqu'en janvier 1750 date à laquelle un édit royal y mit un terme au profit d'une sénéchaussée à Saint-Yrieix.


SEGUR par la suite a traversé la période révolutionnaire sans à-coups majeurs comme bien d'autres cités limousines. Néanmoins, on retiendra la destruction des titres féodaux, que l’on brûla en 1793 sur le champ de foire.
En 1795 le château, qui appartenait aux Hautefort, fut acheté pour 30 francs par un certain Gabriel Dumas Lavareille qui, après avoir été fermier de la famille et administrateur du haras royal de Pompadour, était devenu maire de SEGUR.

 

SEGUR...Petit village Corrézien, comme tombé du ciel, plus que pittoresque, tout fabriqué en pierres anciennes, au creux d'une douce vallée où coule l'Auvézère - ou Haut Vézère - Cette petite rivière parfois capricieuse, enserre dans une de ses boucles le piton rocheux où se niche le vieux château. Maisons et demeures de caractère se blottissent avec grâce au pied de l'édifice, conférant à l'ensemble un charme subtil doublé d'une indicible magie. "SEGUR"...lieu sûr, sécuritas, sécurus, toute l'étymologie s'y retrouve dans l'expression familière et patoisante... "Qué plo ségur"...

Lorsque Henri  III de Navarre devint Roi de France sous le nom d’Henri IV, celui-ci rattacha, en 1607, la vicomté de Limoges et de Ségur au domaine royal. Cet événement fut à l’origine de l’affaiblissement sensible du dynamisme et du rayonnement du village. Malgré tout, la cour des appeaux continua à fonctionner, mais de manière moins intense, jusqu’au milieu du XVIIIe siècle.

 

Sa suppression en 1750 au profit de la sénéchaussée de Saint-Yrieix, mit un terme à l’animation que connaissait le village au cours des siècles précédents. Peu à peu magistrats, notaires et familles bourgeoises, que l’interruption de cette cour de justice touchait de plein fouet, s’éloignèrent de Ségur.

Le village prit doucement l’aspect d’une bourgade calme tout en conservant une activité artisanale et commerciale importante, bénéficiant durant plusieurs décennies de la dynamique impulsée par l’ancienne cour de justice. La période révolutionnaire connut la destruction des titres féodaux, brulés en place public. 

 

Au XIXe et jusqu’à la moitié du XXe siècle, Ségur est un bourg rural dont l’activité est liée essentiellement  à la campagne et à l’agriculture. Artisanat et commerces de toute sorte y sont particulièrement développés. Aux alentours de 1870, tous les corps de métier étaient encore présents à Ségur. Le village comptait près de 1000 habitants qui pouvaient vivre en complète autarcie.

C’est ainsi que  notaire, coiffeur, maréchal ferrant, médecin, sabotier, charron…  pouvaient se rencontrer dans l’un des nombreux commerces que comptait le village – 4 Epiceries, 2 boulangeries, 5 boucheries, 3 cabaretiers, 3 aubergistes, 3 merceries, 2 quincaillers …

 

Ces "artisans d’art" qu’étaient les charrons et les forgerons, composaient une aide précieuse aux  agriculteurs, pour la réparation ou la confection des charrettes et des tombereaux, pour le cerclage des roues, pour la fabrication ou la réparation des Joux d’attelage ou des  timons, pour la réparation de la herse et de la charrue, fabrication de brouettes…
 

En 1920, Ségur comptait encore 850 habitants. C’était un bourg rural avec une activité importante liée à sa rivière jusqu’au milieu du XXe siècle. 3 moulins fonctionnaient encore en 1900. Le moulin Richard en amont, le moulin Saint-Laurent au centre et le moulin Grimal en aval. Ces moulins inscrits sur la carte Cassini (1740) sont dits « Fondés en Titre » au regard du droit d’eau inaliénable acquit pour ces moulins qui fonctionnaient avec la force hydraulique transmise par des montages mécaniques en bois. Leur activité principale était de fabriquer de la farine pour les boulangeries locales. A la fin du 18ème et au début du 19ème siècle, ces moulins ont également broyé les pommes pour la fabrication du cidre mais ils ont également fabriqué de l’huile de noix.

En 1907 Le moulin Saint Laurent, qui se trouve au centre du bourg, s’est transformé en minoterie à 4 niveaux de hauteur de bâtiment. Cela a permis la suppression des meules et l’installation d’un système de broyage, avec des cylindres cannelés métalliques, accompagné, au dernier étage, de systèmes de tamisage appelés "planchisters".
Cette transformation importante a permis de faire évoluer considérablement la production tout en laissant la main au meunier qui règle et assure la qualité pour la farine artisanale.

 

Dans les années 20 le Moulin Richard, le plus en amont sur l’Auvezère, a eu la particularité de fabriquer de l’électricité avec une dynamo. Cela permit de mettre en place le premier éclairage public de la commune.

En quelques lignes voici l’histoire : En 1922, le propriétaire du Moulin Richard décide de mettre un terme à son métier de meunier et de vendre le moulin. En 1923 le Maire de Ségur, le Curé de la paroisse ainsi qu’un jeune artisan de la Commune, Monsieur Robert Breuil, décident d’acheter le moulin afin d’y installer une centrale. Les 3 amis forment une société anonyme et lancent une souscription auprès de la population. Les résultats obtenus dépassent leurs espoirs; ils récupèrent suffisamment d’argent pour lancer leur projet. Monsieur Breuil se charge du gros œuvre, de l’installation de la turbine, d’un régulateur et d’un alternateur, matériel assez puissant pour fournir un courant continu de 110 volts en force motrice. Le travail fut mené rondement et tout fut fin prêt pour l’inauguration qui eut lieu le dernier dimanche de septembre 1924, le jour de la fête patronale de Ségur. C’est ainsi que la lumière des premières ampoules purent tomber des réverbères pour éclairer la rue principale. Une grande première pour l’époque. A la tombée de la nuit on venait des villages voisins pour "voir" l’électricité à Ségur.

Le Syndicat d’Electrification de Lubersac mit fin à cette belle aventure. L’usine s’arrêta en décembre 1930 après 6 ans de service. Ségur était, à l’époque, une des premières communes du canton à avoir l’électricité!

Une profession aujourd’hui disparue était étroitement liée à la proximité de la rivière. 2 personnes  exerçaient le pénible métier de Dragueur et Vendeur de sable. Chacun d’eux faisait ainsi vivre une famille de 4 personnes. Le sable de rivière était, et reste, un sable haut de gamme. En effet, propre et qualitatif, il est très recherché par les professionnels du bâtiment pour les finitions et la fabrication des parpaings. Le métier de dragueur nécessitait quelques qualités physiques. L’équipement se limitait à 1 barque à fond plat, 1 perche, 1 grande pelle et surtout 1 drague. La drague peut-être assimilée à une grande écope percée de petits trous pour l’écoulement de l’eau. Il valait mieux, également, posséder un quai de déchargement. L’homme partait tôt le matin lorsque la rivière le permettait. Après avoir choisi judicieusement l’endroit, la barque était attachée à un arbre ou à une de ses branches du bord de berge. Le sable était remonté à la drague et déposé sur le plancher du bateau. De temps en temps il était nécessaire d’écoper pour alléger la charge car le sable était mouillé et le surplus d’eau s’écoulait dans le bateau. Ensuite venait le moment de la confection des parpaings. L’entretien annuel de la barque était indispensable pour la pérennité du matériel et cela se faisait en été avec le goudronnage complet de la coque.

Jusqu’à la moitié du XXe siècle l’école communale comportait 3 classes distinctes et 3 instituteurs qui s’évertuaient à transmettre savoir et éducation aux enfants du village et alentours. Les jeunes écoliers qui habitaient la campagne partaient tôt le matin et n’hésitaient pas à parcourir plusieurs kilomètres, matin et soir, pour venir à l’école. Celle-ci ne regroupait pas moins de 80 élèves. L’enseignement allait du cours préparatoire à la dernière année de préparation à l’examen tant prisé du Certificat d’Etudes Primaires. Les classes se composaient, de ce fait, de plusieurs niveaux. Pour les enfants qui habitaient loin, le déjeuner du midi se prenait sur place ou à la petite auberge du coin, chez "la Margot".